234, Department of Geography and Environment, University of Dhaka, Dhaka - 1000, Bangladesh

Bangladesh Geographical Society

Bangladesh Geographical Society (BGS) a professional forum of the geographers, originally established as the East Pakistan Geographical Society in 1955. Among the activities of the BGS are the publication of a half-yearly research journal, the Oriental Geographer, maintenance of a reference library and organisation of national level geographical conferences regularly. Since 1957, the Oriental Geographer is regularly published every January and July of a year. In recent years a Bangla research journal Bhugol O Paribesh Journal (the Journal of Geography and Environment) is being published every January and July of a year. The society has exchange programmes with various research and professional organisations since its inception. The headquarters of the BGS are at the Department of Geography and Environment of Dhaka University. The society has four categories of membership - donor member, honorary life member, life member, and general member. There are institutional members at home and abroad.

The BGS is playing professional and academic role in developing the discipline of geography in the country and applying geographical knowledge in national development. In this connection, the Bangladesh Geographical Society takes up various programmes on research, seminars, workshops, conferences, displays, observation and publication. It has already published a number of research monographs and anthologies.

The BGS gives the Nafis Ahmad Memorial Award to the most meritorious MSc student of geography at Dhaka University every year in remembrance of its founder-President, late Professor nafis ahmad. The Rizvi Memorial Award is given every year to the best student of the BSc (honours) course in geography at Dhaka University. Members' subscription and sale of the Oriental Geographer are the main sources of funds for the BGS. The society receives an annual grant from Dhaka University, and irregular grants from the Ministry of Science and Technology and other sources.